Posted on

For Fear of the Gallows.

A glimpse within reveals
an erosion of trust.

No sense of dysfunction
or distinction
in relation to them,
only fundamental exclusion.

Walls that come up
whenever I get close enough,
forever left beating
my head bruised and bloody
against this impenetrable barrier.

Prying eyes
only know the truth.

Still I fear
if they saw more of me
they would only scream
and bolt away, condemn
and send me to the gallows.

Look at what I have done.
All I am; all I have become.

All I can never share:
is it arrogance
and ignorance in me
that insists
they could never
understand, never truly
see me, only think
I’m mad?

Leave a Reply

