Posted on

Equanimity.

Reason
has it’s limitations,
sure,
it can leave your cold,
dead heart
out there on the curb,
but emotion
never seems to lead us
anywhere but down
in the end.

Got to get my reign
on them somehow.
I know how to hold on,
now must learn to let go.

Another hit
of stimulation
to keep me high,
chasing the horizon

(vigilance now; the sky
is always falling…)

till I fall in another grave,
pushed out another hole
into a new day’s
sunlight

that warms
my new skin,
burns away my memory
till I’ve forgotten everything.

Smile in my own ignorance
as I let something, someone
lift me just to drop me
from higher ground.

This all has gone
on for too long.

I need to find naked
awareness within me.
I need clarity,
equanimity…

Leave a Reply

