Posted on

Safe and Silent.

So I run and hide,
as I know what’s coming.

Bursting through the door.
His roar of words,
strikes like lighting, jolted,
finished off by the rolling,
crashing thunder channeled
through the floor.

Safe and silent
behind the door,
beneath the bed
in the closet

as I watch a monster lift
his upper hand,
bring it crashing down
upon its own flesh and blood.

Excuse my fear
and cowardice.
Damn this empathy.

With every strike
upon the skin of their backs
he in turn lacerates me.

Only terror keeps my rage in check
as fantasies of confrontation
swell within.

2 responses to “Safe and Silent.

  1. Kurt

    Almost sounds like a drunk dad beating up his kids!

Leave a Reply

