Posted on

Old Flame, Out.

Feels so wrong
of me to have thought
for a moment
that I had any right
to inquire
in the first place.

After all, I had not seen
you in years
when I heard the news…

Overdose.
Orphaned children.
Calling hours:
avoided like the plague.

Hope you understand.

I deal with death
on my own time, own terms,
in my own way, honoring
a spark I crossed paths
with to share
a short-lived fire.

Hope
you find peace,
old flame.

So sorry
this life had to end
that way.

Leave a Reply

