Posted on

Serpent With Serrated Teeth. 

Anxiety
like a serpent coiling
around my body,

corporeal form
immobilizing, constricting,
adrenaline surging
till I cannot breath,
vision blurry…

In a cold sweat, I’m shaking.
Dying without the release of death. 

Then the serpent’s 
head turns
to sink its serrated teeth
in, and the feel

of the venom
in my veins kills
a part of me that I’ve been hiding,
spreads out, infecting
the rest of me.

Naked, I succumb to the death throes,
dance my way
to the grave I’ve made.

Like a bed, I must lay
in it now, facing the fire
but freed

from all my lies. 

Leave a Reply

