Posted on

Empathy with the Enemy.

Forever
have I feared
looking too deep
into an enemy,

as empathy
seems to necessitate
that I temporarily obliterate
all within me that makes
me myself to make room

for the other,
their heavens
and their hells.

Their heart, mind
and soul.

Too close and I fear
I will lose myself.

Look deep
enough into that yawning abyss
and it stares
back into, swallowing
all of you.

Peering. Understanding.
Killing me,
as it’s all one-way.

Understand:
it doesn’t mean I like you.
Doesn’t mean I won’t fight

to bring your twisted,
stupid ass
down.

Leave a Reply

