Posted on

New Mask for Yesterday.

ANTs infesting my mind
like a seductive picnic.

Automatic negative thoughts
run amok, bubbling up
from the subliminal, autonomous
and relentless.

Flashback bitch-slaps
to the conscious aspect
of my psyche, inner self-flagellation

in the form of guilt, shame,
regret, fear, anger
and self-loathing flooding
me: every day I’m drowning

in a cacophony
of internalized voices
and experiences
echoing back at me
from my history…

my impossible,
largely concealed
memories.

Seen or stealth,
the past is omnipresent.
Today is always
a new mask for yesterday.

Leave a Reply

